Media

Regulatory Compliance

"We get our water from ​more than 600 systems. That's got to change, official says," Newark-Star Ledger, 9/30/2019: https://www.nj.com/news/2019/09/we-get-our-water-from-more-than-600-systems-thats-got-to-change-official-says.html

​"Lead Pipes That Tainted Newark's Water Are Found Across Us," NY Times, 9/13/2019: https://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2019/09/13/us/ap-us-newark-lead-in-water.html

“Legislators note slow progress on state’s water quality management law,” NJTV News, ​9/2019. https://www.njtvonline.org/news/video/legislators-note-slow-progress-on-states-water-quality-management-law/

NJ's Water System Accountability Law a Model - If It's Followed," NJ101.5, ​9/15/2019: https://nj1015.com/njs-water-system-accountability-law-a-model-if-its-followed/

“Here are the Places that Struggle to Meet the Rules on Drinking Water,” New York Times 2/12/18: https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/12/climate/drinking-water-safety.html

“Millions consumed potentially unsafe water in the past 10 years,” Texas Tribune 8/16/17: https://www.texastribune.org/2017/08/16/millions-consumed-potentially-unsafe-water-past-10-years/

“63 million Americans exposed to unsafe drinking water,” USA Today 8/14/17: https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/2017/08/14/63-million-americans-exposed-unsafe-drinking-water/564278001/

“Why It's So Disturbingly Common for Water Regulation to Fail,” CityLab 2/12/16: https://www.citylab.com/equity/2016/02/flint-water-crisis-epa-regulations-mdeq/462444/

“Government agencies are more likely to pollute — and less likely to be punished,” The Week 10/26/16: https://theweek.com/speedreads/583654/government-agencies-are-more-likely-pollute--less-likely-punished

“Government agencies less likely than private firms to comply with environmental regulations,” Science Daily 10/13/15: https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2015/10/151013103615.htm

“The Privatization of Public Utilities Has One Major Upside,” CityLab 7/17/15: https://www.citylab.com/life/2015/07/the-privatization-of-public-utilities-has-one-major-upside/398828/

Affordability

“New water rates would soak NU and high-rises,” Evanston Now 7/13/19: https://evanstonnow.com/story/government/bill-smith/2019-07-13/82237/new-water-rates-would-soak-nu-and-high-rises

“Chicago's Water Prices Are Skyrocketing Faster Than Other Great Lakes Cities,” WBEZ (NPR Chicago) 2/14/19: https://www.wbez.org/shows/wbez-news/chicagos-water-prices-are-skyrocketing-faster-than-other-great-lakes-cities/69951240-ea15-40c7-a649-5b6787e35b6b

“So Close, Yet So Costly: In cities on the Great Lakes, water pipes are crumbling and poor people are paying the price,” American Public Media 2/7/19: https://www.apmreports.org/story/2019/02/07/great-lakes-water-shutoffs

“Why Your Water Bill Is Rising Much Faster Than Inflation,” Wall Street Journal 3/15/18: https://www.wsj.com/articles/who-is-paying-to-fix-outdated-water-and-sewer-systems-you-are-1521106201

“Study: Phoenix Water More Affordable Than Other Large Cities,” KJZZ (NPR affiliate): https://kjzz.org/content/590231/study-phoenix-water-more-affordable-other-large-cities

“Water affordability is not just a local challenge, but a federal one too,” The Avenue: Brookings: https://www.brookings.edu/blog/the-avenue/2018/01/25/water-affordability-is-not-just-a-local-challenge-but-a-federal-one-too/

“Panel Recommends Changes to Two-Decade-Old EPA Water Affordability Guidelines,” Circle of Blue 11/28/17: https://www.circleofblue.org/2017/world/panel-recommends-changes-two-decade-old-epa-water-affordability-guidelines/

“When It Comes To Water Service How Expensive Is Too Expensive?” Circle of Blue 8/24/17: https://www.circleofblue.org/2017/water-management/comes-water-service-expensive-expensive/

Environmental Justice

“In the U.S., black, brown and poor people suffer the most from environmental contamination,” Washington Post’s Monkeycage 9/18/19: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/monkey-cage/wp/2018/09/18/in-the-u-s-black-brown-and-poor-people-suffer-the-most-from-environmental-contamination/?noredirect=on

“Who owns America's water?” Al Jazeera 6/9/18: https://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/opinion/owns-america-water-180607123435697.html

“How racism contributed to Charleston Park's drinking water problems,” Fort Myers News-Press 12/31/17: https://www.news-press.com/story/news/local/2017/12/31/how-racism-contributed-charleston-parks-drinking-water-problems/989078001/

“Crumbling pipes, tainted water plague black communities,” Center for Public Integrity 8/21/17: https://publicintegrity.org/2017/08/21/21114/crumbling-pipes-tainted-water-plague-black-communities

“Navajo Nation to improve sewage treatment after violations,” Native Times 12/16/16: https://www.nativetimes.com/current-news/56-news/environment/14125-navajo-nation-to-improve-sewage-treatment-after-violations

“Inspections show Navajo utility had years of violations,” Arizona Daily Sun 12/9/16: https://azdailysun.com/news/local/inspections-show-navajo-utility-had-years-of-violations/article_98079377-0577-524f-8c2f-e05f9401654e.html

“Study Highlights Systemically Poor Federal Oversight Of Tribal Utilities,” Water Online 11/17/16: https://www.wateronline.com/doc/study-highlights-systemically-poor-federal-oversight-of-tribal-utilities-0001

“Water utilities on tribal land need better enforcement, study says,” Consumer Affairs 11/9/16: https://www.consumeraffairs.com/news/water-utilities-on-tribal-land-need-better-enforcement-study-says-110916.html

“Drinking water in Indian Country: More violations, less EPA,” Environmental Health News 11/6/16: https://www.ehn.org/drinking_water_in_indian_country_more_violations_less_epa-2497217689.html

Water Management

“What San Antonio’s Top Utility Officials Make, and What It Says About Energy and Water,” Rivard Report 8/4/19: https://therivardreport.com/what-san-antonios-top-utility-officials-make-and-what-it-says-about-energy-and-water/

“Investing in H2O: Water utilities balance financial, social, political challenges,” Texas Water Resources Institute, Summer 2019: https://twri.tamu.edu/publications/txh2o/2019/summer-2019/investing-in-h2o/